Taxes
  • Is the Tax Cut Investment Boom Already Over?

    By Michael Rainey

    Kevin Hassett, chair of President's Trump's Council of Economic Advisers, defended the Republican tax bill in an interview with CNN's Poppy Harlow Wednesday, saying that the promised wave of...

  • State Tax Revenues Jump Higher

    By The Fiscal Times Staff

    Solid economic growth and a rising stock market drove state tax revenues higher in 2018, with 36 states collecting more taxes than they did before the Great Recession, according to an analysis...

  • Democratic congressional candidate Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez speaks at her midterm election night party in New York City

    How Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez Is Already Shifting the Debate on Taxes and Deficits

    Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez, the youngest woman ever elected to Congress, has wasted no time in making waves in Congress, emerging as a focal point for the national press — and social media powerhouse...

  • The Great Debt Debate

    By Michael Rainey

    We told you last week about a new paper from economist Olivier Blanchard that caused a stir by suggesting that government debt may be less problematic than many experts have believed. Blanchard found...

  • Economists: It's Time for a Carbon Tax That Pays Dividends

    By Michael Rainey

    Dozens of prominent economists with extensive experience in government service signed a statement in Thursday’s Wall Street Journal calling for a carbon tax. “Global climate change is a serious...

  • The Apple logo is pictured on the front of a retail store in the Marina neighborhood in San Francisco, California April 23, 2014. The company is set to announce its first quarter earnings. REUTERS/Robert Galbraith  (UNITED STATES - Tags: BUSINESS SCIENCE

    How 4 Big US Companies Used Their Tax Cuts

    By Michael Rainey

    Bloomberg’s Laura Davison looked at what some major American corporations did with the tax cut windfalls they received in 2018. How did Apple, Walt Disney, Visa International and Starbucks use their...

  • A red traffic light stands in front of the U.S. Capitol building in Washington

    Is the ‘Era of Tax Reductions’ Over?

    By Michael Rainey

    If Greg Valliere, chief global strategist at Horizon Investments, is correct, Wall Street should be worried about the rise of Rep. Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez (D-NY). In a note to clients Wednesday,...

  • Democratic congressional candidate Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez speaks at her midterm election night party in New York City

    The Ongoing Fight Over Ocasio-Cortez’s 70% Top Tax Bracket

    By Michael Rainey

    The lively debate over the proposal by Rep. Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez (D-NY) to raise the top marginal tax rate to 70 percent continues, as it no doubt will for many months to come, with former...

  • Tax Cuts Still Not Paying for Themselves

    By Michael Rainey

    The latest budget data shows, once again, that the tax cuts are not paying for themselves. “It’s time to put to rest any notion that President Trump’s signature tax cuts are paying for themselves...

  • Democratic congressional candidate Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez speaks at her midterm election night party in New York City

    Ocasio-Cortez’s Tax Bombshell: Is a 70% Top Rate Too High, or Not High Enough?

    By Michael Rainey

    Political Rorschach test Rep. Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez (D-NY) sparked a lively fiscal debate this week after suggesting in an interview that the top marginal tax rate in the U.S. should be as high as...

Taxes Directory

Tags
Monday, November 12, 2012 - 12:09am
Wednesday, November 7, 2012 - 2:10pm
Wednesday, November 7, 2012 - 2:00pm
Tuesday, November 6, 2012 - 12:10am
Friday, November 2, 2012 - 12:38pm
Friday, November 2, 2012 - 12:26am
Tuesday, October 30, 2012 - 12:14am
Monday, October 29, 2012 - 12:50am
Monday, October 29, 2012 - 12:30am
Thursday, October 25, 2012 - 10:27am
Wednesday, October 24, 2012 - 8:28pm
Wednesday, October 24, 2012 - 3:03pm
Monday, October 22, 2012 - 1:48pm
Friday, October 19, 2012 - 12:45pm
Friday, October 19, 2012 - 12:04am
Friday, October 19, 2012 - 12:02am
Sunday, October 14, 2012 - 12:16am
Friday, October 12, 2012 - 12:01am
Thursday, October 11, 2012 - 3:48pm
Wednesday, October 10, 2012 - 12:03am
Tuesday, October 9, 2012 - 5:10pm
Tuesday, October 9, 2012 - 8:30am
Tuesday, October 9, 2012 - 12:20am
Friday, October 5, 2012 - 12:06am
Thursday, October 4, 2012 - 1:33am
Wednesday, October 3, 2012 - 11:23pm
Wednesday, October 3, 2012 - 11:05pm
Wednesday, October 3, 2012 - 12:56pm
Wednesday, October 3, 2012 - 12:04am
Monday, October 1, 2012 - 11:04pm
Wednesday, September 26, 2012 - 9:24pm
Tuesday, September 25, 2012 - 9:55pm
Tuesday, September 25, 2012 - 12:05am
Tuesday, September 25, 2012 - 12:03am
Wednesday, September 19, 2012 - 8:25pm
Wednesday, September 19, 2012 - 12:08am
Tuesday, September 18, 2012 - 8:30pm
Tuesday, September 18, 2012 - 4:03pm
Tuesday, September 18, 2012 - 12:22am
Tuesday, September 11, 2012 - 12:12am
Monday, September 10, 2012 - 11:30am
Friday, September 7, 2012 - 12:30am
Friday, September 7, 2012 - 12:12am
Monday, September 3, 2012 - 12:05am
Wednesday, August 29, 2012 - 8:00pm
Wednesday, August 29, 2012 - 12:05am
Thursday, August 23, 2012 - 12:04am
Tuesday, August 14, 2012 - 11:38am
Monday, August 13, 2012 - 1:52pm
Sunday, August 12, 2012 - 12:07am

Pages